Time for another project!

At the end of 2010, I posted a farewell to the finished year. If you didn’t read it, you can find it here. In the post you may have noticed I mentioned my plans to continue this photo project in 2011. And you may have also noticed there was nothing to notice in 2011. That’s because I didn’t actually do that promised photo blog in 2011. Well another year has passed, and while I needed a break at the beginning of 2011, I’m now really missing my daily photo routine. So I’m starting it up again. Welcome to Project 30, 2012!

For this year-long project, I’ve decided to change things up a bit. I’m no longer going to follow rigid themes each month but instead have decided to focus on a selection of camera techniques – each month featuring a new technique, which I guess is still a bunch of rigid themes (I just read over my selected “techniques” and realized they’re totally themes. Whatever.). The thing is, some of the 2010 themes worked better than others. Sometimes I found myself grasping at straws, desperately trying to figure out what I was going to photograph for the day. Some days it was less about learning and more about just getting it done. I’m realistic. I know not every day is going to be magical. I’m okay with that. But I’m also an idealist, so I want this year to be full of learning and creativity. I want to challenge myself.

I learned a lot during the 2010 project, but one month stands out more than any other – August. The theme was motion, and I never could have anticipated the amount of learning that occured during that month. I realized pretty quickly that in order to capture motion with any success I was going to have to learn how to use my camera. So I read the manual. I learned about different focus modes. I learned how different conditions require different settings and which ones were best for capturing motion. I want that same type of learning to occur during each month in 2012, so I’ve selected themes or techniques (or whatever you want to call them) that I think will help me achieve this goal.

I hope you’ll join me on my 2012 journey.

Leave a Reply

