Day 216: Lame Excuses For Why I’m Two Weeks Behind In Posting

It took me a while to wrap my head around this “dragging the shutter” concept. It’s not that it’s a particularly difficult concept to understand, but I just couldn’t decide what I could reasonably consider an example of the technique and what was better suited for a different theme because it didn’t really fall within the parameters I’d given myself. I kept taking photos with slower shutter speeds and then thinking, “Is this REALLY a good example of dragging the shutter, or am I just taking a bunch of photos with a slow shutter speed that would look exactly the same even if the shutter were faster?” For example, a close up of an inanimate object. There’s no motion to capture and no major depth to produce dark, cave-like backgrounds that need to be lighted up with ambient light. Then I read this article and things became clear.

Here’s another side-by-side (okay, one underneath the other) example of how more ambient light helps lighten and warm up a photo, making it look less harsh. Again, the only difference is shutter speed.

shutter speed: 1/250s | f/10 | ISO:500

shutter speed: 1/8s | f/10 | ISO:500

Leave a Reply

